Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner question: Stabilize Ph at 6.8 using Acid and Alkaline buffer

Hello!

I’m a beginner, sorry me if these are dumb questions, my tank has only a couple of days.
    I have a freshwater tank and I want to keep Ph stabilized in 6.8. I was recommended to use both Acid Buffer and Alkaline Buffer to do this, but I don’t know how to use them. I’ve made some researches in the forum but I’m still in doubt.

I’m not familiar with terms like Kh, Gh and so on, what I know is:
    - My tank has 100 liters of water.
    - I’ve used tap water to fill it. I live in Sao Paulo, Brazil, water quality is good (we can even drink it) but it’s too alkaline for my needs, it came with a Ph of 7.5.
    - My fishes need soft water.
    - My substrate is PH neutral.
    - I have no shells or other stuff that raises my Ph.

My questions:
    - Since tap water comes with Ph 7.5, what doses of Acid Buffer and Alkaline Buffer I must use to make Ph stabile at 6.8?
    - Must I put them together in the water or Acid Buffer first then Alkaline?
    - What are the recommendations to keep Ph stabilized during water change?

Someone could help, please?

Thank you in advance!

Thanks for the post! Before I answer your direct questions I will explain the difference between the terms you mentioned. :)

KH is part of your alkalinity and is a measure of your carbonates and bicarbonates in the water. Alkalinity and KH help to stabilize the pH, so you always want to maintain a good level.